Studyportals placeholder

Georgetown University



Established in 1789, Georgetown is the nation’s oldest Catholic and Jesuit university. Drawing upon the 450-year-old legacy of Jesuit education, we provide students with a world-class learning experience focused on educating the whole person through exposure to different faiths, cultures and beliefs.


Georgetown's nine schools offer undergraduate and graduate degrees, including the liberal arts, sciences, international relations, law, medicine, business administration and public policy degrees, and a growing number of specialized certificates and continuing education programs.


Our largest research center – Georgetown University Medical Center (GUMC) – is home to more than 400 scientists working on basic and clinical research projects and 300 active clinical trials. These researchers focus on cancer, neuroscience, child health and development and global health. Across the university we are researching issues in international development, public policy, chemistry, biology, psychology and physics.


The university provides distinct career opportunities at our Main Campus and Medical Center in historic Georgetown as well as at the Law Center on Capitol Hill, the School of Continuing Studies in Downtown Washington and our School of Foreign Service program in Doha, Qatar. No matter where you work at Georgetown, you are part of a diverse university community that reaches across the globe.


Library services

Georgetown University libraries provide academic resources, special collections and spaces for research, teaching and study throughout our campuses. In addition to the extensive general collection housed in Lauinger Library, the university maintains specialized legal, medical, scientific, bioethical and theological collections.


Georgetown University is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, 3624 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104. (267-284-5000) The Middle States Commission on Higher Education is an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation. The Middle States region includes the District of Columbia, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. 

Washington, D. C., Washington, D.C., United States

Other programmes from this university