Óbuda University

Distance Learning Courses



The history of our institution is spanning over three centuries. Óbuda University was established as of 1 January 2010, as a legal successor of Budapest Tech – and its legal predecessors, namely Donát Bánki Technical College, Kálmán Kandó Technical College, and the Technical College of Light Industry. 


The university offers a whole range of academic programs: twelve bachelor, seven master, and three doctoral degree programs await the future students. High-level vocational training, distant learning, and professional extension  courses enrich the offering.

We have 6 faculties, 1 education center, and 3 doctoral schools. 

  • Alba Regia
  • Donát Bánki
  • Kálmán Kandó
  • Károly Keleti
  • John von Neumann
  • Sándor Rejtő
  • Ágoston Trefort
  • Doctoral School of Applied Informatics and Applied Mathematics
  • Doctoral School on Materials Sciences and Technologies
  • Doctoral School on Safety and Security Sciences


Research, development and innovation are a distinguished part of the university, which creates a well-balanced unity with the education. Research, development and innovation is implemented in high-standard, internationally-known basic researches, European and national research projects, as well as industrial developments and innovation.


Housing services

Óbuda University student housing provides accommodation and offers students comfortable living spaces, convenient learning conditions, sporting and recreational activities. Rooms are fully furnished with all basic amenities and equipped with Wi-Fi internet access. Dormitories are self-governed through the Óbuda University Student's Council. 

Library services

The library is an information centre of knowledge transfer, which grants students, faculty, and staff, access to traditional and virtual literature, and supports liberal education.

ICT services

  • Copying
  • Printing 
  • Laminating 
  • Binding 
  • Scanning 
  • Computers

Medical services

Student health insurance costs 120 EUR per year. Health insurance coverage is obligatory for both University enrollment and to acquire a residence permit. For EU citizens, Switzerland and EEA countries, a valid European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) is required to access free or reduced cost health services.

Student Life

Campus life

Óbuda University has six campuses - four in Budapest, one in Székesfehérvár, (approximately 60 km from Budapest) and one in Salgótarján (approximately 109 km from Budapest). The four campuses in Budapest are located in the 3rd District of Buda and in the 8th District of Pest.


ÓU is a recipient of the Higher Education Quality Award, is accredited by the Hungarian Accreditation Committee and a current member of the European University Association (EUA).

Budapest, Budapest, Hungary

Other programmes from this university


Go to your profile page to get personalised recommendations!